Fruit Salad: Play-Testing

Play Test I:

IMG_3151.jpgI conducted my first play-test in class on 12th May 2017. I had whipped up a prototype of my board game that was made out of butchers paper and playdoh.

Many of my classmates had expressed interest in playing my board game and I soon found out why…PLAYDOH! They all were mesmerised by the playdoh and they kept playing with it after the play test was finished.

The playdoh really adds a nice touch of ludic play to my board game with the ability to create any fruit you want to.

Even though Fruit Salad uses mostly padic play, it was good to have the creative touch of the playdoh.

Pros of Fruit Salad:

  • Everyone enjoyed designing their own fruit
  • People responded well to breaking off segments of their fruit when they got sliced by the knife
  • Exciting and thrilling at the start. With most players getting out within the first 5 rounds. This was surprisingly quick which was good because it didn’t give players a chance to get upset or frustrated.

Cons of Fruit Salad:

  • It was too random. By that I mean, players either died really quickly or they took forever to die.
  • This was a problem; players got bored because the game was too easy or because they were dead and had to wait for other players to die.
  • The game is limited in the sense that there are only a certain number of things the player can do. For example, if a player landed on a pesticide space but didn’t have worms, then nothing would happen.
  • The knife was too sporadic in movement. If their were two players left, the odds of the knife hitting them were very low. Even though it is a game of chance, the game needed to be more punishing to make it a more intense/challenging experience.
  • One player gave me feedback saying that there should be a compost bin for fruits that die via worms/fruit flies.

 Changes:

  • Rule of “Cornering”: Each space the knife lands receives a knife token and now becomes a knife space.
    • I like this idea of cornering. By introducing this rule, it means that as the game goes on, less and less spaces are safe and it basically pushes the players into a corner until their is only one remaining victor.
  • Add Fruit Bin (Compost bin) for fruits infected with worms/fruit flies.
  • Below is a picture of the notes I took from my first play test:
  • 18834676_1769150179778276_910417394_n

 

 Play Test II:

I conducted my 2nd Play Test on the 15th May 2017 at my college with 5 of my room mates. This was a more authentic play test experience because unlike my classmates they had never heard about my board game.

I explained the concept of the game to them and then the rules. This took a total of about 7-8 minutes. We then proceeded to play the game.

  • Pros
    • Fun to design fruit. This was once again very successful.
    • The new cornering rule made for a faster pace game which in turn made it more exciting and thrilling because players would never know when they are about to be chopped.
  • Cons
    • The game overall lacks depth. It’s very basic and does not really require much skill.
    • No substance to really hook the player and get them coming back for more. We played 2 games of Fruit Salad and by the end of the 2nd game players lost interest.
    • Difficult for colour blind people to play. Not much disability access. This was made apparent to me by one of the players whose brother is colour blind.

There is clearly still a long way to go with my board game. However, I am very happy with how it has progressed over the past couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

