“Dancing in the Moonlight”-Thin Lizzy

It’s 4pm in the afternoon. Due to an unpleasantly sharp hangover, I skipped breakfast and went straight for Maccas at midday. I completely demolished a greasy burger and some salty fries before I made the longest 5 minute walk of my life back home.

After a 2-hour nap on the couch in my common room, I wake up and look around… everybody is on some form of screen-based technology. Here we all are, in the common room with the TV on, buried in our hand-held electronic devices. The only sounds to be heard are the background babblings of an infomercial on the TV.

I proceed to sit up, and after a slow rub of the eyes and a yawn, I plunge my hand into my pocket and slide out my iPhone. I take one last look around to check if any verbal interactions are actually going to occur before I enter the realm of social media, and…nope. Everyone is silent, all I can hear is the soft tap of laptop keys and the light swipe of fingertips on glass.

I unlock my phone and immediately dive into the world of Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and Snapchat to find that I am bombarded with notifications from none other than the people sitting around me. Notifications as recent as 30 seconds ago! I was taken aback. A whole world and conversation of cyber-banter was occurring right underneath my nose. I’d been tagged in humorous memes, mentioned in comments on extreme sport videos, and most surprisingly of all, I found myself in the middle of a Snap-Chat War.

Pictures of me asleep on the couch captioned “Moses in his natural habitat #sleepytime”. I was being absolutely roasted, but I wasn’t the only one. Everyone around me was participating, taking pictures of stupid faces we pulled, drawing on those pictures and sending them around the room via Snapchat. It was aright good laugh…


Real Talk though. This is my experience with media space. I live with this everyday and it is so much fun! It is not as anti-social as I made it sound in the description above. In reality, we all sit around in our free time on our phones in front of the TV telling each other the things we find on the Internet. For example, “Hey Tom, did you see what happened in the US today?…wait up, I’ll just tag you in it, one sec”. It is a space where we can chill and relax, and laugh ridiculously hard at Jaden Smith‘s Tweets. blog post 1 image

Furthermore, in the first lecture for BCM240, Susan mentioned that ever-dreaded question, “Where are we now in our lives?” I still don’t know the answer to this question and it’s been 20 years. As well know musician Passenger describes in his song 27, “I don’t know what I’m doing, but I know what I’ve done…” This summarises my life perfectly. I’m a 2nd year University student with no idea where life is taking me. Like most other people my age I’m still finding my way. I’m still experimenting, trying new things, figuring out what I like, figuring out my beliefs and values as well as determining the type of person I want to be in the future.

Wrapping it all up, my understanding of media space is that it is ever changing. It is dependent on elements I have no control over. Yeah, I can get to where I want to go but I can’t change the people around me. I can’t change the unexpected and unpredictable events  of the future happening virtually and in reality.

So, on a rather confused and overwhelmed but also slightly excited note, I leave you with the wisest song lyric I know, “I’m on my way. I don’t know where I’m going, but I’m on my way…” (Paul Simon, “Me and Julio down by the School Yard“).

 

Leave a Reply

